Student Wellness
Student Wellness

Mental Health Task Force

Mission Statement

The ISU Mental Health Task Force will broaden and enhance ISU’s approach to suicide and substance abuse prevention, as well as mental health promotion. Using the public health approach, we will strengthen partnerships, increase strategic training, deliver outreach strategies, and develop early identification and intervention practices. Intentional focus will be placed upon addressing the needs of college student populations at higher risk for mental health and substance use disorders (racial and ethnic minority students, LGBTQIA+ students, and student veterans).

Current Projects

The ISU Mental Health Task Force is currently working on various projects to enhance suicide prevention training on campus, to enhance screening and brief intervention strategies connected to mental health, to enhance outreach and communication on campus for suicide prevention, and to plan a state-wide Regent institution conference on mental health in 2021.

Membership List

The ISU Mental Health Task Force is made up of staff/faculty from across the institution. Below is the list of members for Fiscal Year 2020.

Name Department Email Subcommittee 
Kristen Sievert Student Counseling Servicesksievert@iastate.edu Training 
Kelsey Engel  Student Counseling Services Kengel3@iastate.edu Training 
Sasha Borges-Ho  Student Counseling Services sashabh@iastate.edu Training 
Carrie Giese Student Wellness clgiese@iastate.edu Conference 
Brian Vanderheyden Student Wellness brianv1@iastate.edu SBIRT/BASICS 
Megan Van Heiden Dean of Students  mvanheid@iastate.edu Outreach 
    
Allison Bell ISU Police Department ambell1@iastate.edu Training/Conf. 
David Vogel Psychology  dvogel@iastate.edu Training/SBIRT 
Laura Moeller Thielen Student Health Center lmoeller@iastate.edu  
Lois Smith  Thielen Student Health Center loiss@iastate.edu Outreach 
Deb Vance International Students and Scholars Officedvance@iastate.edu Outreach 
Ashley Huth  International Students and Scholars Office awhuth@iastate.edu Outreach 
Brad Freihoefer The Center for LGBTQIA+ Student Successbfry@iastate.edu  
Brett Lohoefener Office of Univ. Counsel bwl@iastate.edu Conference 
Chris Hanes Student Counseling Servicescwhanes@iastate.edu  
Jathan Chicoine Veterans Center jathan@iastate.edu  
Howard Tyler College of Agriculture and Life Sciences htyler@iastate.edu Training 
Kenyatta Shamburger Multicultural Student Affairs kenyatta@iastate.edu Conference 
Joy Stroud Reiman Gardens Jstroud@iastate.edu Conference 
    
Virginia Speight Dept. of Residencevspeight@iastate.edu BASICS 
Linda Svenson  Dept. of Residence lsvenson@iastate.edu Training 
Mike Giles Recreation Services mcgiles@iastate.edu SBIRT 
Kelsey Culbertson Suicide Awareness Org. kculbert@iastate.edu Outreach 
Erin Baldwin Student Health & Wellness baldwine@iastate.edu SBIRT 
    
Katherine Rafferty Faculty rafferty@iastate.edu Outreach 
Mason Babcock College of Liberal Arts and Sciences mbabcock@iastate.edu Training 
Jordan Brooks  College of Design – Multicultural Liaison Officerjwbrooks@iastate.edu  
David Brown Extension & Outreach dnbrown@iastate.edu Conference Planning 
Kinsey Phillips ISU Police Department kinseyp@iastate.edu  
Keara Doocy Student Support Service Kdoocy@iastate.edu Training